Select Page

Our natural energy is of the most vital and intrinsic parts of ourselves that everyone should strive to protect and improve on a daily basis. A great way to do so is to first understand the seven chakras of the human body. When our bodies’ energy is blocked in any of the seven chakras, illness, both physical and mental, could come as a result, making it all the more important to know how these sources of energy flow.

Root Chakra

The lowest chakra located at the base of the spine, the root chakra represents our foundation, helping us feel grounded and in control. Blocked energy here can result in stress related to financial situations and basic survival needs, such as food and physical wellness.

Exercises that could help with this may include specific yoga poses intended to open up the lower spine, or simply going for long walks and paying close attention to your feet, embracing the “grounded” part of this chakra. You can also use the essential oil Red Amber and the gemstone Red Jasper to help you tune to this chakra.

Sacral Chakra

Located in the lower abdomen, the sacral chakra is a representation of our connection with others and the ability to take on new experiences or challenges. Should energy be of little to no flow in this area, individuals may feel a decreased sense of well-being, pleasure, and sexuality.

Pelvic thrusts and the cobra yoga pose can help influence the flow of energy in this chakra, as well as adding more nuts and orange-colored fruits to your diet. The essential oil Musk and the gemstone Carnelian are good for tuning this chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Right above the sacral, the solar plexus chakra is found in the upper abdomen, representing our sense of confidence and self-worth. Some issues associated with little energy here include lowered confidence, poor self-esteem, and a general feeling of uselessness.

A great way to regain this confidence is to dance, focusing on the movement of your hips. Grains, whole wheat foods, and herbal teas are great as nutritional supplements for this chakra as well. To tune this chakra use the essential oil Jasmine and the gemstone Tiger’s Eye.

Heart Chakra

As the name suggests, this chakra is located at the center of your chest just above the actual heart, representing love, inner peace, and joyfulness. Low energy here can result in a decreased sense of all of these feelings.

Though it may seem simple, an effective healing exercise for the heart chakra is to open yourself to as much love as possible. Surround yourself with those that bring joy to your life and embrace the time spent with them. You can do this by holding an image of your loved ones in your heart and imagine breathing in and out of your heart-space. The essential oil Rose and Rose Quartz gemstone work well to tune this chakra.

Throat Chakra

A representation of our communication skills, self-expression, and truthfulness, low energy flows in the throat chakra often result in individuals acting much more closed off, making them more inclined to hide their feelings and avoid communication altogether.

A great healing exercise for this, though it may seem uncomfortable to some, is to sing and embrace the sound of one’s own voice. Chanting or praying out loud is another option. A shoulder stand yoga pose is also highly effective. You can also use Amber Kashmir oil and the gemstone Sodalite to tune this chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

Located on the forehead in between our eyes, the third eye chakra is perhaps the most acclaimed chakra in the modern world. Representing our ability to focus and look beyond situations for what they really are, emotional issues with this often result in poor intuition, a lack of imagination, and indecisiveness.

Child’s pose, specifically, is a great yoga pose to reset your energy levels here. Eye exercises could be greatly beneficial, as well as herbal oil treatments applied to the face, or even some more chocolate here and there for a quick mood-booster. To tune this chakra use the essential oil Sandalwood and the gemstone Lapis.

Crown Chakra

Finally, the pinnacle of the seven chakras, the crown chakra is located at the top of the head and represents our overall spirituality and wholeness. Lower levels of energy here could result in the inability to feel connected spiritually, and a lower sense of both inner and outer beauty.

Meditation is one of the best ways to heal this area. Cardiovascular exercise is another great alternative. The essential oil Blue Lotus and the gemstone Amethyst work well to tune this chakra.

My daily practice includes yoga poses for all the chakras, meditation and visualize to open and balance each chakra, as well as the use of Egyptian Essential Chakra Oils with gemstone roller balls to tune and balance my chakras.